Infinite Potential Well: Recent Activity
Infinite Potential Well: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity |
Mechanics | Planets and Gravity | Merge Gates | Madness | Venture into the House |
Recent updates to Infinite Potential Well: (Generated at 2025-07-14 21:06:37)
My original idea was to put a -1/-1 counter, but then I realized that wither meant that 1 damage was the same thing. This is intentionally being a too-clever designer.
There's an interesting, and very picky argument as to whether or not this card should have the creature deal damage to itself, or whether it should put a -1/-1 counter on the creature, and bypass the 'clever designer'. I'm not too interested in getting into it, because no matter which side I choose, I figure I'll be a loser. That being the case, I thought you might be too close to the card to see the other option, and it occurs to me that I wrote an infinitely looping paragraph, continuously leading back to the first sentence...
Just imagine that the sword is covered in mystical symbols prophesying the deterioration of all life.
I gave it deathtouch and trample because that is a travesty of design. It's meta.
On the card itself though, I like it and it is definitely mythic, though it will cause a lot of rules headaches (Wizards customer support desk will inevitably get a call from a guy with an EDH deck supporting this, Opalescence and Humility.) Characteristic-defining, "when ETB" and "as ETB" abilities are the worst. Will this kill Boneyard Wurm? Will this allow me to cast Simic Initiate without it dying? Will this allow me to bounce your creature when I cast Aether Adept?
I think that a 5/5 without deathtouch and trample would be ok, even if it lessens its ability to attack.
Man, I'm still sleepy. I read this as "horde of transvestites".
Is that second part supposed to be a permanent effect? I get the impression it is, but I had to roll it around in my head for a while.
I would have suggested exiling Filigree Repairs instead, but I assume you're trying to link this up with Unearth. With a casting cost like this, though, I get the feeling that we should be sacrificing (exiling) this artifact at end of turn, like how Unearth works, and maybe giving it Haste, too. Otherwise, this makes one heck of an instant speed Zombify for artifact creatures. Do you remember Footsteps of the Goryo? It was surprisingly good... and that was without the haste or instant speed.
Post-Conflux cycle: Esper+Grixis.
Post-Conflux cycle: Grixis+Jund.
Post-Conflux cycle: Jund+Naya.
Let's just introduce the check at the exact right point, then?
"When a creature you control deals 5 or more points of combat damage then it deals it as though it had trample." ?
@Jack: That has even worse problems, due to layers. Basically a 3/3 hit by Giant Growth won't gain trample, and a 6/6 hit by Last Gasp won't lose it, because ability adding/losing happens in layer 6 and P/T changes happen in layer 7. There was an allusion to this on dailymtg at one point during Alara block, by way of explanation why all the Naya cards have activated abilities rather than static ones like you'd expect.
@dude1818: Yep, this works now.
I moved the if clause to the end. Now it will only check on resolution, which works the way I want it to work, right? I ended up just dropping vigilance from the triggered ability.
Hm. You could do "creatures you control with power 5 or more have trample"? That's probably unprintable because it's too confusing in the rare case where another ability shrinks the creature again before damage, but it still has more than enough power to kill all the blockers. But 95% of the time it should work as expected.
"it's got the magic "intervening if clause", which is precisely not what you want."
I don't quite know how this works, but does that mean if the "if" clause was after the "gain trample" it would work?
That doesn't help with vigilance, though.
Alternatively, you could split it up so one ability functions for creatures that attack alone and the other functions for creatures with 5+ power, and they both turn on for a pumped exalted creature?
Sadly this still won't work, because now it's got the magic "intervening if clause", which is precisely not what you want.
I think this is why Wizards took the Mosstodon approach, and it might be best to follow that. Something like:
>
: Target attacking creature you control with power 5 or greater gains trample UEOT.
But then you can't include the untap... Vigilance is just going to be a pain. I'd probably recommend you move to a different ability in place of vigilance.
Reworded its ability. Now it should grant creatures boosted by exalted trample and vigilance. I also added "another creature" so that it can't untap itself. That was supposed to be there already.
@noyahuid: When another creature attacks attacks alone, the three Exalteds would trigger, but this wouldn't. That's because "A creature you control with power 5 or greater" didn't attack... even if a creature with power 5 is now an attacking creature. That said, if I want to get super technical, I think the card might want to read "Creatures you control with power 5 or greater gain"... the way it's written right now, it only triggers once instead of once for each creature... which gets really weird as the ability moves forward.
Oh, also, Dude, are you cool with this creature getting a free untap? This card is really weird with Opposition, potentially attacking then tapping two blockers. (Attack with Vigilance, Trigger its own ability, tap to tap another creature, trigger resolve = untap, tap to tap another creature).
Wouldn't "creatures you control with power 5 or greater have trample and vigilance" achieve the same effect in 90% of cases? :)
Edit. Ah. wait. Naya + Bant. Strange rules. Will this trigger Exalted, if, say, a 2/2 attacks and gets +3/+3?
Post-Conflux cycle: Naya+Bant.