Infinite Potential Well: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Planets and Gravity

CardName: Ruinsword Cost: 2 Type: Artifact - Equipment Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Equipped creature has first strike and wither. At the beginning of your upkeep, equipped creature deals 1 damage to itself. Equip {2} Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Infinite Potential Well Uncommon

Ruinsword
{2}
 
 U 
Artifact – Equipment
Equipped creature has first strike and wither.
At the beginning of your upkeep, equipped creature deals 1 damage to itself.
Equip {2}
Created on 30 Oct 2012 by dude1818

History: [-]

2012-10-30 18:41:52: dude1818 created the card Ruinsword

Just imagine that the sword is covered in mystical symbols prophesying the deterioration of all life.

There's an interesting, and very picky argument as to whether or not this card should have the creature deal damage to itself, or whether it should put a -1/-1 counter on the creature, and bypass the 'clever designer'. I'm not too interested in getting into it, because no matter which side I choose, I figure I'll be a loser. That being the case, I thought you might be too close to the card to see the other option, and it occurs to me that I wrote an infinitely looping paragraph, continuously leading back to the first sentence...

My original idea was to put a -1/-1 counter, but then I realized that wither meant that 1 damage was the same thing. This is intentionally being a too-clever designer.

I'll take that. It certainly doesn't seem worse for being clever... just that a different group of players will appreciate it.

Mmm... makes it take a couple of readings. And make players legitimately ask "Why can I pay {2} as a sorcery to unequip only if I've got another duff creature?"

although... now I want to stick it on a creature with protection from itself...

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lightning Blast
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)