Infinite Potential Well: Recent Activity
Infinite Potential Well: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity |
Mechanics | Planets and Gravity | Merge Gates | Madness | Venture into the House |
Recent updates to Infinite Potential Well: (Generated at 2025-07-14 13:21:34)
Are you suggesting something like "If you cast this spell from your hand, exile it as it resolves. You may cast it from exile by paying \1."? In that case, it would definitely be able to be cast from exile no matter what put it there. OTOH, it would be almost the same as flashback, just with exile and graveyard switched.
The way it's currently written, it's supposed to be a pair of linked abilities that only allow you to cast it from exile if you paid the timecast cost to put it there.
If that's the case, would it make the most sense to put Timecast at the end of the card's ability instead of the front? I got to admit, I was confused on first read because I assumed that Timecast was supposed to be doing something first, or seperate from the ability, not in addition to, after the ability is done.
There's also a bit of confusion as to whether or not you can just cast this from exile whenever it is exiled. I mean, I know you don't really have much space in the reminder text for that, and you can just clean that up in the comprehensive rules... but a person just reading the card wouldn't be able to say one way or the other. Maybe it would be better to have the card naturally exile, but you can pay a cost to stop it from exiling? Hmm.... I don't know. It solves the problem but would probably end up getting more confusing in the end.
Timecast acts somewhat like flashback. Most flashback spells cost extra the second time, but timecast spells put the extra cost in front, sort of like buyback. By paying the extra cost, you've assured yourself of being able to play it again. I'm not sure whether or not that's a good way to do it.
Heehee!
Adjusted the reminder text. You can only cast vortex spells any time they could normally be cast.
Ah, good point. Yes, you're right. I think I might have twigged that if the reminder text said "As long as it has \1 or more time counters on it, you may cast it by paying \2".
I don't think the rules would interpret it like that. Bear in mind that something like Intet, the Dreamer doesn't get around timing restrictions.
Do I infer from Temporal Interference that once a vortex card has enough time counters on it, you're able to cast it any time you could cast an instant? That adds quite an unusual timing option to spells like this; it becomes something like Ophidian Eye. Which is fine - Ophidian Eye exists, after all. But some of the bigger effects, like Cleanse the World, are quite unusual to get at instant speed.