Infinite Potential Well: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Planets and Gravity

CardName: Pultoid Stalwart Cost: W Type: Creature - Human Pow/Tgh: 1/1 Rules Text: Pultoid Stalwart's power and toughness each can't be reduced below 1. Flavour Text: The Pultoids are fiercely loyal to their planet, tiny though it may be. Set/Rarity: Infinite Potential Well Uncommon

Pultoid Stalwart
{w}
 
 U 
Creature – Human
Pultoid Stalwart's power and toughness each can't be reduced below 1.
The Pultoids are fiercely loyal to their planet, tiny though it may be.
1/1
Updated on 29 May 2012 by dude1818

History: [-]

2012-05-20 04:42:01: dude1818 created the card Pultoid Stalwart
2012-05-20 04:43:00: dude1818 edited Pultoid Stalwart

That's a nice effect I've not seen before. It's mostly a downside; but protects against some removal. I like it.

It's almost 100% downside. If I played Eager Cadet, one of the only reasons I would be able to convince you to play, say Last Gasp on it, was because I had somehow made it more powerful a creature (for example, I cast Serra's Embrace on it). By removing the caster's ability to make it a better creature, you've also removed the opponent's need to destroy it.

I do like this concept, though. Personally, I think you can run this as a 2/1 like Elite Vanguard. Not being able to Giant Growth this seems like a big enough downside to deal with the bonus ability of "Can't be Shriveled."

Edit: Oh, hey, I just realized that this won't be affected by your own p/t reductions as well. So feel free to play Night of Souls' Betrayal with this on the board. Still, I think that's rare enough that this could go 2/1. At the very least, 1/2.

2012-05-20 17:40:28: dude1818 edited Pultoid Stalwart

This reminds me of Indomitable Warrior and Stability.

on 29 May 2012 by Visitor:

The mechanic is interesting. However, if you use something like a Giant Growth, wouldn't the +3/+3 be permanent since it's power and toughness 'cannot be reduced'... which is what happens @ the end of the turn. Thus it acts like +1/+1 counters... right? Or is not able to be reduced below it's starting power / toughness?

facepalm. Yeah, I think Dude meant "can't be lowered below 1"

facepalm. Yeah, I think Dude meant "can't be reduced below 1".

2012-05-29 01:44:20: dude1818 edited Pultoid Stalwart

I don't think Giant Growth-style effects would be permanent, but I changed it to prevent the possibility of confusion.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lightning Bolt
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)