Infinite Potential Well: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Planets and Gravity

CardName: Suppression Field Cost: 2G Type: Enchantment Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: If a permanent would phase in, it phases in tapped instead. Until end of turn, it gains "This permanent doesn't untap during your untap step." Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Infinite Potential Well Uncommon

Suppression Field
{2}{g}
 
 U 
Enchantment
If a permanent would phase in, it phases in tapped instead. Until end of turn, it gains "This permanent doesn't untap during your untap step."
Updated on 5 Sep 2012 by dude1818

History: [-]

2012-09-04 22:19:52: dude1818 created the card Suppression Field

Bombo! Phasing happens before the untap action, so they just untap right away anyway.

The intent is perfectly clear. If the rules don't work, that's the rules' problem.

(Saying that; how about "Permanents phase in tapped, and do not untap the turn they phase in")

2012-09-05 12:40:09: dude1818 edited Suppression Field

I think it works as intended now. I wish it was a little more elegant.

Would it just be easier to write "Creatures that phase in cannot attack or block this turn"? Or is being tapped important?

By the by, I just noticed that this card is murder with... ooh, this thing just dodged Sands of Time. Any spell, however, that just phased lands every other turn would result in a strong lock...

I suppose not attacking is the same thing (barring Teferi's Isle)). They could still defend during the next player's turn, so being tapped is advantageous there. It doesn't make a huge difference.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lightning Blast
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)