Infinite Potential Well: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Planets and Gravity

CardName: Sleeper Agent Cost: G Type: Creature - Elemental Pow/Tgh: 0/1 Rules Text: {T}: Put a +1/+1 counter on each face down creature that attacked this turn. Awaken {G} ({3}: Turn this face down. It becomes a 2/2 creature. Turn it face up any time for its awaken cost.) Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Infinite Potential Well Common

Sleeper Agent
Creature – Elemental
{t}: Put a +1/+1 counter on each face down creature that attacked this turn.
Awaken {g} ({3}: Turn this face down. It becomes a 2/2 creature. Turn it face up any time for its awaken cost.)
Created on 20 Apr 2012 by dude1818

History: [-]

2012-04-20 04:38:12: dude1818 created the card Sleeper Agent
2012-04-20 04:38:50: dude1818 edited Sleeper Agent

Is there a reason for both this and morph to exist?

It's a morph you have to reveal? Seems unlikely that you'd usually want to remorph a creature; but this has two reasons to do so.

But yeah; morph has kinda eaten most of this space already, leading to me having to break that down to "Ok, I awaken it for 3 to remorph it and now it can morph for g" ... which is backwards. Interesting idea, interesting wording - but I think it needs changing so that it doesn't conflict so much.

It's also got memory issues. This sounds fun, until someone is playing with 4 separate creatures with Awaken and flips them all face down. I think you'd have some very frustrated players on your hand, having to pay too much attention as cheaty-mccheaterson trys to play 3 card monte with you.

I should reinforce, though, that this ability really does sound fun, though. I don't want to come across as a fun-hater. I like the mechanic. I just don't think it's something Wizards would print.

on 20 Apr 2012 by Mollusk:

Using my slime trail to mark the flipped cards isn't cheating? I would have thought the memory issues was precisely the point of re-morphing something; just as you can't be sure which possible option a morph cast from hand is.

Actually, you can. The rules state that the order of which Morphed cards became morphed needs to be preserved, but it doesn't state that you need to reveal any more information about face down morphed creatures. So I can:

Round 3: Play a Morph
Round 4: Play a Morph
Round 5: Play a Morph

And if an opponents asks "Which Morphed creature did you play second?" I'd have to tell him. Failing to do so (because I didn't know myself, say) would result in some sort of penalty, though, I'm not a judge, and couldn't tell you what the result would be. Probably just a warning for the first time it happened... but multiple warnings are deadly.

So, if I turned three of these creatures face down, and my opponent asked, "which card did you turn face down second?" I'd have to point to a specific card. But I wouldn't have to tell him what that card says... which, of course, is super aggravating, because that player will then spend 10 minutes trying to remember if that creature was a 1/1 or a 1/2. That' not really a problem if there's only a few cards in the set that do this (and maybe a rare that turns cards face down), but can become problematic if your set has 50 creatures that can turn face down...

I thought this was going to be a reprint of Sleeper Agent.

I also agree I don't see the point in Awaken besides trying to play memory games with your opponent for stuff they should be able to remember but can't.

I designed awaken to primarily go on noncreatures. For example, you play Unhappy Land on an early turn, then when you have excessive mana you turn it into another creature.

Hmm. That's all well and good, but why not just use 2/2 tokens? You must be planning to let people do tricks by flipping the cards back face-up, and at that point the memory games come in.

I hadn't thought of using this to create memory games. They don't seem like they would be appreciated by less experienced players.

Add your comments:

(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lava Axe
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)