Code Geass: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Introduction and General Invitation | Proxies for playtest | Design Challenge 2 | Colour-pair archetypes | Skeleton

CardName: Zero Requiem Cost: 1WB Type: Sorcery Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Prepare {W}{B} ({2} as a sorcery: Exile this face down from your hand. On future turns you may cast it from exile for its prepare cost as if it had flash.) Until your next turn, if damage dealt by a source an opponent controls would reduce your life total to less than 1, instead prevent that damage and gain control of that source. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Code Geass Mythic

Zero Requiem
{1}{w}{b}
 
 M 
Sorcery
Prepare {w}{b} ({2} as a sorcery: Exile this face down from your hand. On future turns you may cast it from exile for its prepare cost as if it had flash.)
Until your next turn, if damage dealt by a source an opponent controls would reduce your life total to less than 1, instead prevent that damage and gain control of that source.
Updated on 24 Nov 2020 by Alex

Code: MZ01

Active?: true

History: [-]

2017-03-13 13:46:53: Alex created and commented on the card Zero Requiem

Wants to be called Thanatos Gambit. The amazing bluff that Lelouch pulls when he [spoiler][spoiler][spoiler].

Sortof wants to be "If you would lose the game this turn, target opponent loses the game instead", but there's no way that's printable. This way fits the flavour and fits the control-change themes of the set.

And for the FAQ: if you've cast this, and your life total is 3 and you're being attacked by 5 1/1s, you prevent all 5 damage and gain control of all of them. But if some of them had first strike, you'd only gain control of the ones that were going to deal the actual killing blow.

This Prepare mechanic is really hard to parse. If I understood it correctly, you can only prepare a spell at sorcery speed but can cast it at instant speed, also, you can 't cast it for its prepare cost the same turn you prepare it. Is that right?

Yeah; though you usually wouldn't want to - since you can flat-cast it as a sorcery if you like.

Oh wow, yes, that's a very tempting effect.

@kauefr: Yes, that's right. This is obviously a flashy mythic, so not at all the simplest execution of the prepare mechanic. It is unfortunately fairly wordy. It's still my best candidate for a Prediction / planning mechanic having tried quite a few :)

The commons with prepare are things like Prepared Guardian and Blaze Luminous (and I'd like to find some even simpler ones). And there's a high-profile uncommon cycle - Prepare for Ambush and friends - which have Prepare {0}, so on turns after the turn you prepared them you can cast them for free.

This is extremely unappealing as a sorcery. Could this at least say "Until your next turn" rather than "Until end of turn"?

2017-04-18 22:57:36: Alex edited Zero Requiem:

sure, that makes sense. but up the main cost to 3 in that case.

2020-11-09 14:08:55: Alex edited Zero Requiem

Having realised I really want Emperor Charles zi Britannia to be a black-white mythic, that makes me think I might need to change this. Charles's card really needs to be black-white, but this could be whatever colours it fits. This wants to stay a mythic rare, as it represents the amazingly audacious plan which nobody except Lelouch could either come up with or carry out, but its colours are flexible.

I do quite like the current effects, so I'm wondering what colours this effect fits in? I think it could probably be anything part-blue (well, maybe not blue-green). If I were to make this blue-red, would the current rules text still fit that, do you think? I could maybe add "Your life total becomes 1" to make it feel a little more red.

Hmm, well - Reverse Damage says this can be White. Control Magic says Blue. Black for the obvious "Yeah, I'm willing to freakin DIE to get control of that. And, you know, not actually die because that would be dumb." It's not really very green? It's the weak taking control of the strong, very un-green there. Red... is heavily against the planning flavour. Though for actual play value? "I'm playing a trap spell, and hoping you forget it exists. I'm sure that'll pay off for me. Shaddup." maybe :)

Honestly, {b/w} nails it for me. A red downside would be to make the control temporary (boo). Or global. ... ok, global is insanely Xanatos-roulette. I mean, in practical terms, when's it ever actually gonna come up that you fire this off and then you accidentally kill off an opponent so they get the effect and it keeps on trucking turn after turn? When you're a RED player, that's when!

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Shock
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)