Multiverse Design Challenge: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
All challenges | Upcoming Challenges | Make a new design challenge! | All challenges (text)

CardName: Sigilier of Awe Cost: 1G Type: Creature - Human Warrior Pow/Tgh: 2/2 Rules Text: When a creature you control attacks alone, it gets +2/+2 if it has higher power than any creature controlled by defending player. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Multiverse Design Challenge Uncommon

Sigilier of Awe
{1}{g}
 
 U 
Creature – Human Warrior
When a creature you control attacks alone, it gets +2/+2 if it has higher power than any creature controlled by defending player.
2/2
Updated on 16 Jan 2015 by Jack V

History: [-]

2015-01-16 00:41:13: Jack V created and commented on the card Sigilier of Awe

See Challenge # 116.

Mini-cycle with Sigilier of Valor and Sigilier of Heraldry. I looked for things that could be done in Bant, and one I missed was more focus on the sigils for especially prominent heros. Hence, a condition bonus mimicing exalted. I'm worried this dilutes exalted too much, maybe it should be a bonus in addition to exalted, or a larger bonus (+1/+1 counters?)

I do think it's too similar to exalted without being exalted. I think there's a reason Wizards paired exalted with lots of "quasi-exalted" abilities like that of Rafiq of the Many.

In particular, Wizards seem to have found that it works to have lots of abilities with the same trigger but different effects. Cf Battalion, Raid, Finest Hour/Battlegrace Angel/Rafiq of the Many, etc.

I could see an argument that Finest Hour, Battlegrace Angel, Rafiq and Angelic Benediction should have been in a mini-cycle themselves.

I guess, it felt to me like, once you have the idea of exalted, having an ability which partially overlaps ("when this attacks or blocks alone", or "if this is the only attacking creature, it has") it would be really confusing, but this ability is clearly built for using a single creature attacking alone, but with an extra hurdle and bigger reward.

But if it feels off to everyone else, there's probably no point trying to preserve it.

It could be exalted plus a conditional bonus, but I think it would be confusing if that bonus was +X/+X as well.

Hmm. Yes, given that the trigger is "exalted plus some other condition", I think that could work, but the bonus shouldn't be +X/+X.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lightning Bolt
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)