Link's First Custom Cube: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity |
Mechanics | Skeleton | Themes & Archetypes |
CardName: Singularity Cost: 3ww Type: Enchantment Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: When Singularity enters the battlefield, exile all other nonland permanents until Singularity leaves the battlefield. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Link's First Custom Cube Rare |
Code: CW20 Active?: true History: [-] Add your comments: |
Ha! Planar Cleansing meets Final Judgment meets Oblivion Ring. I could definitely see this being printed. It makes me smile.
...Wait, this includes lands? Yikes. I fear the cost might need to be higher if it affects lands.
I though about making it cost 8, but I thought the existence of enchantment removal at as low as 1 CMC made it fair at 6. I'm probably wrong, though.
Dropped cost and added "nonland."
Consider for Anydria.
Updated from Oblivion Ring wording to Banishing Light wording and reduced cost by
.
Changed my mind about reducing the cost.
I'm still gibbering about this. It's a HUGE threat!
On the other hand - it's really just a reversible super-wrath. So even if I've got a deck with no way to deal with it, I can just grit my teeth and start rebuilding.
It really shines as a combo; it's a great way to protect your other combo pieces until you want rid of it. It's also kinda fun that you can't sensibly use a second one - if your first one isn't enough, and the opponent powers through it - the second one will get rid of that new threat - but bring back all of the old ones.
Ok, I've unconvinced myself - it sits in the wrath slot of a set, and is suitably mighty there; but not ridiculously impossible to cope with.
Actually, though, your mention of a second one points out a big problem. Two of these go infinite, and indeed draw the game since it's not optional. Maybe it needs "enters the battlefield, if you cast it from your hand"?
Why would they? Let's see.
Second one exiles the first one; which then returns everything it had exiled.
Then remove the second one; that returns the first one... which removes everything again. That's kinda funny; but the second one was already gone, so it doesn't remove that.
Doesn't look infinite to me. Does look hilariously silly though.
Three... third removes the second; which returns the first; which removes the third, which returns the second which removes... which one's in play now? The first, returning... the third. Oh bother.
Ok, can't do it easily, but can do it. Suggest just "You may exile all..." that's enough to make it stop.
Oh, right, sorry - you're right, it needs three to go infinite. Not sure how I got so confused about that.
Oblivion Ring is capable of creating a similar infinite loop. If a player is casting a third one of these, it's their own fault if they draw the game. :-P