Cards With No Home: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Other non-themed cardsets | Skeleton

CardName: Tahnlen the Ashen Cost: 2GWUB Type: Legendary Creature - Treefolk Turtle Pow/Tgh: 4/7 Rules Text: At the beginning of each opponent's end step, take an extra turn after this one. Skip your main phases and your combat phase of that turn. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Cards With No Home Mythic

Tahnlen the Ashen
{2}{g}{w}{u}{b}
 
 M 
Legendary Creature – Treefolk Turtle
At the beginning of each opponent's end step, take an extra turn after this one. Skip your main phases and your combat phase of that turn.
4/7
Updated on 9 Sep 2019 by Link

History: [-]

2019-09-04 16:58:19: Link created the card Tahnlen the Ashen

Okay I'm very confused. You basically skip an opponents end step to get an additional turn before your actual turn starts? But you dont actually get to play that turn. The way you've worded it means the creature is only a land on that extra turn, a land you can't really do anything with because you skip most of that turn anyway. Its cool that you get extra upkeeps and end steps for more ability triggering. Finally, you might want to change the wording of the last rule "Until the end of your next upkeep." Because the land will become a creature when your turn starts but it will immediately become a land again at the beginning lf your upkeep.

Im sure you know what this card is meant to do. But I really dont know.

2019-09-04 17:24:08: Link edited Tahnlen the Ashen

Ah, yes. I made a mistake with the functionality of the second ability which obfuscated my intent. I believe it is clearer now.

So, at the end of each other player's turn you untap everything, draw a card, and get an upkeep. Potent.

Oh okay. I think I get it now.

So you summon this on your 1st main phase and it becomes a Land on your 2nd main phase. Or you just summon it on your 2nd main phase then it won't become a land. If its not a land, you have a very good defender and a very powerful ability.

When you get the extra turn, it will become a creature and will not become a land again plus you get the extra untap steps, upkeeps, draws and end steps which is very useful when facing multiple opponents. Unfortunately its not quite as useful in two player and it wont be a good defender for the first opponent if it became a land on the turn you summoned it.

This is one crazy card and I think I like it. But it does still hurt my brain thinking about how, when or why I would use it. And that mana cost is appropriate but kind of ugly.

Wait a minute. Letting it become a land on your 2nd main phase is a bad thing cause you wont get the extra turns and it will almost never become a creature again because you dont get the extra turns without main phases. In fact after your second real turn with this in play, it will become a land and just stay that way, so its only a good defender with a strong ability from when you cast it until your next main phase and then it will never defend or give you an extra tutn again.

It's weird that in multiplayer this is only a land during one opponent's turn and a creature during the other opponents' turns.

Why did you decide to make it that way?

I think I just didn't put as much thought into this as I should have and as you guys are.

The intent is that the first ability is only active every other turn cycle, which was meant to curtail the power level. It's intended for Commander and therefore multiplayer.

So, the first turn cycle you have it, it's supposed to be a creature, and grant you your draw/untap/upkeep/end steps. Then the next cycle, I meant for it to be a land until your next turn — or to otherwise lose that ability for a cycle.

Let me try to fix it.

Wait, @SecretInfiltrator — I think I'm missing something. How does this become a creature during your other opponents' turns after the first?

2019-09-05 13:10:07: Link edited Tahnlen the Ashen

Okay. This is super sloppy now and to be honest, at this point, I'm not even sure if it works.

You know what? I'm just going to delete the Land clause.

2019-09-05 13:12:22: Link edited Tahnlen the Ashen:

Previously had "At the beginning of your upkeep, if the turn preceding this one was yours, until the beginning of your next turn, ~ loses all types and abilities and becomes a colorless legendary Land with "{t}: Produce {c}.""

I think the one big mistake you made here is trying to make a card with two very distinct states and not just go outright DFC.

Well, the single-state version certainly works, but still has a weird cost.

Heres an idea for a cost. {2}{g/w}{g/w}{u/b}{u/b}. I dont think its a good idea to have {c} in the cost of multicoloured cards. I would only use {c} for Eldrazi or maybe Legendary Artifacts. Maybe if you could just also tap it for {c} or more that would be better and would justify it costing more.

Well, that depends on the flavor of the world and character and what decisions might lead to putting {c} in other casting costs. Admittedly, those things aren't fleshed out here.

Personally, I find the cost you suggested to be less appealing, but that could just be personal preference.

This is intended to be Seedborn Muse as a Commander, but on steroids. It needs to cost more than just 4cmc, and I thought perhaps making it effectively 5c, CMC might be an appropriate cost. Perhaps I'll remove the {c} from the cost, though.

2019-09-08 18:04:08: Link edited Tahnlen the Ashen

Yeah i only suggested the hybrid mana cost because players don't seem to want to play 4 color cards and this seems like it could be good in many different kinds of 2 or 3 color decks.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
What is this card's power? Merfolk of the Pearl Trident
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)