Cards With No Home: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Other non-themed cardsets | Skeleton

CardName: Rite of Preparation Cost: B Type: Instant Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Exile target card from a graveyard. If it was a creature card, you gain 2 life. Contingency — A creature card leaves a graveyard. (If you cast this from your hand, exile it as it resolves. Cast its bottom half from exile without paying its mana cost when its condition occurs.) Create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Cards With No Home Common

Rite of Preparation
{b}
 
 C 
Instant
Exile target card from a graveyard. If it was a creature card, you gain 2 life.
Contingency — A creature card leaves a graveyard. (If you cast this from your hand, exile it as it resolves. Cast its bottom half from exile without paying its mana cost when its condition occurs.)
Create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token.
Updated 2 days ago by Link

History: [-]

2020-05-22 21:52:54: Link created and commented on the card Rite of Preparation

Will this immediately trigger itself? The other example doesn't seem to have the same timing confusion.

If so then, hm, this is a 2/2 flash and gain 2 life for {b} with "can't be cast on turns 1-2". Which... is probably enough to make it not unbalanced, actually. It'll make it really annoying to attack with an x/2 in limited if this is common, though.

No, it shouldn't. If it does that's not my intent, though admittedly my focus has been away from Magic these last few years.

Consider that its effects happen, and then it enters exile instead of the graveyard as it resolves. It's not in exile for its contingency to trigger from its own effects. It will trigger the next time you cast another copy of it, though.

Also: Hello, Alex. I hope you're doing well.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lava Axe
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)