Steam: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Setting, Themes, Mechanics

CardName: DrawSpell Cost: 3U Type: Instant Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Corrode - You may put the top four cards of your library into your graveyard rather than pay DrawSpell's mana cost. Draw two cards. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Steam Common

DrawSpell
{3}{u}
 
 C 
Instant
Corrode – You may put the top four cards of your library into your graveyard rather than pay DrawSpell's mana cost.

Draw two cards.
Updated on 18 Feb 2016 by DrugsForRobots

History: [-]

2011-04-14 23:31:54: DrugsForRobots created the card DrawSpell

Corrode in its current form is fundamentally abusable; the Big Deck would happily play this on turn 1 and over-corrode for 229 cards, with win to follow.

2011-04-15 01:22:48: DrugsForRobots edited DrawSpell
2011-04-16 01:23:05: DrugsForRobots edited DrawSpell
on 24 Oct 2011 by Visitor:

I have the feeling this card would be almost instantly restricted in Vintage, and banned in Legacy. Two cards for free and an intended drawback which is negligible in many decks, and an active benefit in many more.

Mmm, very much requires a certain environment to be valid in.

Not really sure what to suggest to handle that.

Yeah. Some Multiverse designers keep trying to use self-mill as a drawback or cost, but it really, really isn't. With the possible exception of when the number of cards milled gets to 40+ from a single card, and perhaps not even then.

If you made this "draw 1 card" (and perhaps took the normal cost down to {1}{u} or so), then it'd be similar to Gitaxian Probe or Street Wraith or Mishra's Bauble. Dredge would probably love it, but most other decks wouldn't bother.

This is part of what is making my dig mechanic such a pita to come up with.

Why would anyone ever cast this spell as opposed to use the alternate cost? If it was kept as is, I'd, at the very least remove the casting cost... it has no purpose.

It is a bit telling, though. If this card cost {u}, I would still probably never pay its cost. I'd feel like a sucker for paying that mana before drawing cards.

Alternatively, you could just put this card in your set...

Draw Two!

I kid! I kid! I'm sorry for being a wise-ass... I just couldn't help it. :D

The alternate cost does make it hard to interact with scry type effects that stack the top of your deck, or any 'put on top of your deck' effects. But yes, apart from that, or facing a mill deck, it'd be pretty rare that I'd not use the alternate. Even if I get all four of these, that's less than half my deck gone, I'm in no danger of decking myself. And, as Visitor points out - if I've got any kind of graveyard fetching, or something like Bonehoard, then I WANT to dump my deck into my graveyard ASAP.

Edit: You kid, but oooh, that's a FUN idea.

I was thinking about this, and the funny thing is, even if you and your opponent don't have any cards that interact with your graveyard, and this card had a casting cost of {0}, I'd still pay the alternate cost. You gain more information that way. If I dumped 8 cards in my graveyard, and none of those cards are land, I now have a better than 50% chance that the next card I draw is a land. If it's round 3, and I've cast this spell twice, have seen about 22 of the cards in my deck by now, and I haven't seen one of my four copies of Doom Blade yet, then I know I have about an 11% chance of drawing a Doom Blade on my turn. I know few people do the math like that... but they can process it in similar vagaries.

Lol. Yeah... as much as I love 'free' spells, I guess it's more trouble than it's worth. Haha. Thanks for the comments! :)

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
Enter mana symbols like this: {2}{U}{U/R}{PR}, {T} becomes {2}{u}{u/r}{pr}, {t}
You can use Markdown such as _italic_, **bold**, ## headings ##
Link to [[[Official Magic card]]] or (((Card in Multiverse)))
Include [[image of official card]] or ((image or mockup of card in Multiverse))
Make hyperlinks like this: [text to show](destination url)
What is this card's power? Merfolk of the Pearl Trident
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)