Rallikar: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Skeleton

CardName: Back to Work Cost: 2b Type: Sorcery Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Return two target creatures from your graveyard to your hand. Discard two cards. Flavour Text: "Get back up, ya lazy bum!" Set/Rarity: Rallikar Common

Back to Work
{2}{b}
 
 C 
Sorcery
Return two target creatures from your graveyard to your hand. Discard two cards.
"Get back up, ya lazy bum!"
Updated on 10 Jun 2013 by rourke

Code: CB14

History: [-]

2013-06-09 20:34:22: rourke created the card Back to Work

Um... is this meant to say "to the battlefield"? Even if it did, it'd be worse than Zombify in two ways, but as it is it's worse than Raise Dead in more ways than I care to count.

It does have one use - creatures that trigger when they go to the battlefield could be triggered by this. It's a rare deck that wants to discard cards, but they do exist. But yeah; way overcosted for the general use case.

2013-06-10 10:48:35: rourke edited Back to Work:

Sorry, I was not awake when I made this. Yikes. Is this any better?

Erm... So this is now Zombify with a discount of 3 mana in exchange for discarding a card? Looks kinda a bit too far the other way: a reanimator deck would love that "drawback".

If this is in a common slot, it should probably be to hand. Generally Raise Dead is common and Zombify is uncommon. Stir the Grave is the only common Zombify I can find, and that's got built-in protection from turn 2 fatty reanimation shenanigans. (Oh, there's also Unearth, but that's from broken Urza block and it still has anti-fatty-reanimation clause.)

Now this is just embarrassing. I just thought to come back to this set yesterday; I wasn't really thinking about it. thank you!

2013-06-10 20:09:02: rourke edited Back to Work:

Hum. Is this any better? And it makes more sense with Guerrilla Warfare this way too.

Pay three cards (one is this one), and three mana, to get two creatures back from the graveyard to your hand.

... Raise Dead twice. Still not seeing the utility here.

No, this makes a little bit more sense. Converging on a sensible price :) Currently we're worse than Macabre Waltz in two ways though.

Or, you know, Death's Duet. Which is kind of old, but I haven't seen any modern magic cards invalidating it.

I should probably point out that you would technically have one over on Death's Duet by adding "Up to two" instead of requiring two. That's admittedly... a bit confusing for a player who just wants to discard cards. I don't know if you could cast that spell with zero targets, and the intent to just discard cards.

Oh yes, there's Morbid Plunder too. Which you can indeed just cast with zero targets if you really want to trigger Extort or whatever.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Shock
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)