Multiverse

CardName: Elusive Ocelot Cost: {1}{G} Type: Creature - Cat Pow/Tgh: 1/1 Rules Text: Shroud, Forestwalk {U}: Elusive Ocelot loses shroud and gains +1/+1 until end of turn. Use this ability only once per turn. {B}: Elusive Ocelot loses forestwalk and gains +1/+1 until end of turn. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Foundations Uncommon

Elusive Ocelot
{1}{g}
 
 U 
Creature – Cat
Shroud, Forestwalk
{u}: Elusive Ocelot loses shroud and gains +1/+1 until end of turn. Use this ability only once per turn.
{b}: Elusive Ocelot loses forestwalk and gains +1/+1 until end of turn.
1/1
Updated on 2 May 2012 by Sorrow
Foundations: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Recent activity
Mechanics | Foundations | Sect Evolution

History: [-]

2012-03-26 22:24:27: Sorrow created the card Elusive Ocelot

Normally the abilities can't be used more than once, right?

No, that's incorrect. You have to be able to pay the cost (everything before the colon), and you have to be able to choose all targets in the effect, but everything else can be activated even if it won't do anything on resolution.

Two fixes I can see, both of which make it more wordy:

{u}: ~ loses shroud and gets +1/+1 UEOT. Activate this ability only once per turn.

or

{u}: If ~ has shroud, it loses shroud and gets +1/+1 UEOT.

I like the idea of it giving up its ability for a boost, but it could probably have a similar effect more simply. For instance, the "lose forestwalk" effect doesn't usually do anything, assuming that if you want to use forestwalk, you pump it after you attack. (And it'll usually be clear whether you want to attack as a 2/2 or a 1/1 forestwalk.)

But the idea of trading in shroud for a bonus is very interesting: when do you risk it and when don't you? Can it be tweaked somehow?

2012-05-02 00:05:04: Sorrow edited Elusive Ocelot

Add your comments:



(You won't be able to edit your comments unless you sign in before posting) (formatting help)