[Card Dump] Tahazzar's Designs: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics

CardName: Obelisk of the Uncharted Cost: 2 Type: Legendary Artifact Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: {T}: Exile the top card of target opponent's library. You may activate an activated mana ability of that card without paying its activation cost. Flavour Text: Each part held a plane forgotten by a 'walker. Each marking was a memory of something lost. Set/Rarity: [Card Dump] Tahazzar's Designs Mythic

Obelisk of the Uncharted
{2}
 
 M 
Legendary Artifact
{t}: Exile the top card of target opponent's library. You may activate an activated mana ability of that card without paying its activation cost.
Each part held a plane forgotten by a 'walker. Each marking was a memory of something lost.
Illus. Alan Gutierrez
Updated on 16 Nov 2018 by Tahazzar

History: [-]

2018-11-16 07:58:01: Tahazzar created the card Obelisk of the Uncharted
2018-11-16 08:02:00: Tahazzar edited Obelisk of the Uncharted:

rare -> mythic

Not many mana abilities can be activated from exile.

The intent is that you could add mana if you exile a land. Can that be made to work? I posted a question regarding this to MTG Salvation.

Yeah, but this SAYS that you can activate it. I think that trumps. Anyway, wording aside - seems legit. Always at least mill-1, a third of the time it's a mana rock of a random colour; and just occasionally it does something bonkers. I like it.

Do you want this to also work for Llanowar Elves and/or Seething Song?

Also, the complicated way may not be the best way anyway. What's wrong with:

"{t}: Exile the top card of target opponent's library. If you exile a land this way, add one mana of any color."

I mean, the Obelisk is a mythic. Why are trying to restrict the color of mana it might produce?

Because then that can't activate that one insane card that just ahppens to be a mana ablity as a side effect of its huge effect...

A mana ability is an activated ability that creates mana or a triggered ability that triggers off of mana creation and makes more mana itself. So as far as I know Seething Song doesn't count. https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Mana_ability

My intent is to activate the activated abilities - hence the wording as I don't think it would even apply to triggered abilities since they aren't something you can 'activate'... if it works or could work that is. EDIT: The comprehensive rules speak of triggered abilities being activated so I added "activated [mana ability]" as a restriction.

This way it can activate the last ability of Ramos, Dragon Engine for example. This novelty is the most of its reason for being a mythic.

2018-11-16 15:17:22: Tahazzar edited Obelisk of the Uncharted:

added "activated" as a restriction

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
Enter mana symbols like this: {2}{U}{U/R}{PR}, {T} becomes {2}{u}{u/r}{pr}, {t}
You can use Markdown such as _italic_, **bold**, ## headings ##
Link to [[[Official Magic card]]] or (((Card in Multiverse)))
Include [[image of official card]] or ((image or mockup of card in Multiverse))
Make hyperlinks like this: [text to show](destination url)
What is this card's power? Hollowhenge Beast
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)