Conversation: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics

CardName: Comprehensive color pie Cost: Type: Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Mark Rosewater lays out all the abilities in all the colours (as of June 2017 design-time). Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Conversation None

Comprehensive color pie
 
 
Mark Rosewater lays out all the abilities in all the colours (as of June 2017 design-time).
Updated on 6 Jun 2017 by Alex

History: [-]

2017-06-05 17:40:42: dude1818 created and commented on the card Comprehensive color pie

I feel like this will be super useful to many people: Mechanical Color Pie 2017

2017-06-05 17:41:31: dude1818 edited Comprehensive color pie

Oh yes! So interesting to see it officially laid out. It's interesting how most of it is about what I thought, but I was often vague about what was primary/secondary for some mechanics, or other distinctions.

I wish he'd taken the time to state explicitly that set themes and set mechanics can and will violate the color pie. Also he discussed almost nothing of counters, even though +1/+1 counters outside a few specific cases clearly are distributed along color pie lines. (e.g. put N +1/+1 counters on target creature(s) is primarily green, secondarily white)

Some statements that struck me as odd:

"Deal N damage to a creature that's been damaged this turn" is listed as secondary in black, but it has literally never appeared on a card of that color (unless that is actually a strange way to describe the Fatal Blow/Hooded Assassin effect).

Also "White's artifact destruction is usually at uncommon." Whut? What the hell goes on in the timespan between design and release for MaRo to say something so utterly preposterous?

Along the same line "White and green usually have one enchantment destruction card in common, although green's is usually also a spell that destroy both artifacts and enchantments." which is laughable (he says the same about artifacts too!). What actually goes on is that if only one is destroyed, it's usually an enchantment for white and an artifact for green. There is a strong back/forth movement between the colors for removal that hits both types of permanents. Right now it strongly favors white.

This is why I try to take Rosewater's dictates with a grain of salt. He's like President for Life of the Magic color wheel, which means that what he says has a lot of credence. But that doesn't mean his opinion of where the color wheel is is law. His opinion can be overruled.

Which isn't to say that this isn't a very useful tool. It's not every day that you get a peek at the President's agenda.

I suspect the design team turn in designs with green common Naturalize and white uncommon Demystify, and then development go "Um, no" and move it around.

ISTR reading somewhere that in Amonkhet, originally Dissenter's Deliverance was a Naturalize; then development wanted to push it for constructed so removed "or enchantment" to make it cheaper, and that meant they twiddled Forsake the Worldly to ensure there was a full Disenchant at common somewhere. Perhaps that keeps happening and Maro hasn't noticed?

2017-06-06 10:12:38: Alex edited Comprehensive color pie

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
What is this card's power? Runeclaw Bear
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)