Bound in Kherna: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Planeswalker's Guide to Kherna | Skeleton

CardName: Graven Kin Cost: g Type: Creature - Spirit Elf Pow/Tgh: 0/1 Rules Text: If Graven Kin would be put into a graveyard instead return it to play with 2 +1/+1 counters on it, you gain 2 life. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Bound in Kherna Mythic

Graven Kin
{g}
 
 M 
Creature – Spirit Elf
If Graven Kin would be put into a graveyard instead return it to play with 2 +1/+1 counters on it, you gain 2 life.
Illus. Ryan Kennedy
0/1
Updated on 9 Sep 2019 by Deadsaint

Code: MG02

History: [-]

2014-01-08 22:33:35: Deadsaint created the card Graven Kin
2014-01-08 22:33:47: Deadsaint edited Graven Kin
2015-09-01 20:23:19: Deadsaint edited Graven Kin

i find it really hard to believe that this card isn't black

2019-09-04 16:03:49: Deadsaint edited Graven Kin

Cards usually say "Two +1/+1 counters" to avoid number confusion.

Also this is just really strong. You attack so I block with Graven Kin. Now I gain 2 life and get a 2/3 for free before I even get to my second turn of the game.

If I have to discard a card, I'll just discard Graven Kin then gain 2 life and get a 2/3 for free.

I would at least restrict it so that it only returns to the battlefield if it died on the battlefield and it wouldn't hurt to add a {g} to the mana cost.

There needs to be some limit to the reanimation. An immortal blocker that gains you life and also goes infinite with any sac outlet is miserable to play against. I'd suggest either a mana cost to the reanimation (like Relentless Dead) or only triggering when it goes to the graveyard from somewhere other than the battlefield (like Narcomoeba)

You may cast CARDNAME from your graveyard if you pay an extra {g}. If you do, you gain 2 life and CARDNAME enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it.

Might be more balanced.

Or just do what Persist does, and have it only return if it doesn't have counters on it.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
What is this card's power? Merfolk of the Pearl Trident
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)