Xalai

Xalai by Froggychum

132 cards in Multiverse

58 commons, 43 uncommons, 23 rares, 8 mythics

23 white, 25 blue, 22 black, 22 red, 22 green,
5 multicolour, 3 hybrid, 7 artifact, 3 land

175 comments total

A plane of immense sky and sea, with odd gravity and an abundance of bright mana

Xalai: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity

Recently active cards: (all recent activity)

 C 
Creature – Bird
Flying
It is unknown how this prey keeps it's first so immaculate
2/1
3 comments
last 2018-07-20 03:42:10 by SecretInfiltrator
 C 
Creature – Zombie
{t}, Exile two other cards from your graveyard, Sacrifice Slatland Stalker: Add {b}{b}
Skanhagg's remnants stalk the Slatlands, in search for their fallen master
2/2
23 comments
last 2018-07-20 14:44:07 by Froggychum
 C 
Creature – Elf
Vigilance
The emerald woods are located through a portal in the slatlands, settled on an isle floating indescribable depths away from the mainland
2/2
2 comments
last 2018-07-12 16:50:17 by Froggychum
 R 
Artifact
{t}: Add {g}, spend this mana only on Elf spells
2 comments
last 2018-07-12 16:49:52 by Froggychum
 C 
Creature – Bird
Flying
"To the skies, my feathered friend!"
-Niya, Galiba's Apprentice
2/3
1 comment
2018-07-12 08:12:07 by Tahazzar

Recent comments: (all recent activity)
On Slatland Stalker:

oh, my bad, i thought looting could be used androgynous for both of those effects. Also i think i may have been confused on how i've been writing it. anyway this all makes sense, i think i'm just confusing myself.

On Golden Sleekbird:

"it is first"? In what? Do I smell autocorrect?

On Slatland Stalker:

I don't know who told you that "{t}, Discard a card: Draw a card" is wrong. It isn't... for rummaging.

But as I explained to you a while ago: Looting and rummaging are different things. In looting discard is not part of the cost, but part of the effect since by the nature of the effect you discard after drawing: "{t}: Draw a card, discard a card."

Have you ever considered just looking at actual existing cards and reproducing their wording? If you want to make a blue card that loots, look up Merfolk Looter. If you want a card that rummages, look up Rummaging Goblin.


I'm not certain I am ready to walk you through the problem with the current status any more than the above post actually does. If you understand that cards changing zones become new objects, you understand the potential problem. If you don't, well, there is a reason I called it "nitpicky".

On Slatland Stalker:

I've been hearing a bit lately about certain ways costs can be ignored. i've always written looting/rummaging as "{t}, Discard a card: Draw a card" because i assumed discard was a cost, in order to draw that delicious card. i've just learned i've been reading and writing it wrong. Is there some sort of easy way to understand how to properly write costs and effects so they cannot be abused or ignored?

i'm fine with making whatever niche rules need to be moved moved, i'm not quite sure what's the problem with the current status tho

On Slatland Stalker:

Or better:

{t}, Exile two cards from your graveyard: Sacrifice ~. If you do, add {b}{b}.

The reason no card has used the currently suggested wording is really nitpicky rules issues with permanents and the cards they eventually become being different objects etc.

There is technically nothing wrong though with leaving the card as it is and claiming "the rules can be adapted to make this work as intended", because that's entirely plausible.

On Slatland Stalker:

I actually don't know. I don't think any cards have this cost yet. We can pretend it works, or you can make exiling a cost and sacrificing part of the effect, e.g. "{t}, Exile two cards from your graveyard: Add {b}{b} and sacrifice ~."

On Slatland Stalker:

is everything better now?

On Slatland Stalker:

I do too like the graveyard exile addition - it gives off a Deathrite Shaman vibe.

@dude1818: That sounds really weird. I would most certainly say it's not intended.

On Slatland Stalker:

You're allowed to pay costs in any order, so no matter how you write the cost you could just exile this creature and one other card to pay for the ability. Not sure if that's intended

On Slatland Stalker:

Btw, on activation costs that are partly symbols, partly not, the symbols always come first (mana before tap symbols, but that's not relevant here).

You correctly capitalized each part of the cost that is written out in words. I think their order is simply alphabetically sorted according to the first word.

Interesting twist with the exiling of cards from the graveyard. Certainly supports the color choice.

(All recent activity)
See other cardsets