Pantheon of Szykielwa: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Skeleton | Szkielwa and its Gods | Heresy

CardName: Cannibal of the Cult Cost: 3G Type: Creature - Elf Warrior Pow/Tgh: 3/3 Rules Text: Sacrificing a creature is heresy. {T}: Sacrifice a creature. Whenever you commit heresy, you may distribute two +1/+1 counters among any number of creatures. Flavour Text: The weak provide for the strong, and everyone is weak in some way. Set/Rarity: Pantheon of Szykielwa Uncommon

Cannibal of the Cult
{3}{g}
 
 U 
Creature – Elf Warrior
Sacrificing a creature is heresy.
{t}: Sacrifice a creature.
Whenever you commit heresy, you may distribute two +1/+1 counters among any number of creatures.
The weak provide for the strong, and everyone is weak in some way.
3/3
Updated on 07 Feb 2021 by Sorrow

History: [-]

2021-02-06 13:47:24: Sorrow created the card Cannibal of the Cult

So the tap ability triggers the second ability twice? That seems quite strong even on its own

I had hoped "or" would make it so the trigger only occurs once. Is there a way to word it so that the trigger only occurs once?

Not without changing the interaction with other cards e. g. the easiest way would be to remove "Commit heresy." from the activated ability.

Maybe you could do something like:

  • "{t}: Sacrifice a creature. This is an act of heresy.
    Whenever you sacrifice a creature and/or commit heresy, do the thing."

Actually there was once that one Azorius ability concept I've been working on with some people. It worked a bit like a static ability e. g. "Discarding a card is against the law." and a triggered ability "Whenever an opponent breaks the law, tap up to one permanent that player controls." etc. It was problematic because white-blue actually are not that good at punishing and laws were about your opponent doing things. I think, the same technique though might work wonders for heresy.

Three abilities:

  • "Sacrificing a creature is heresy.
    {t}: Sacrifice a creature.
    Whenever you commit heresy, you may distribute two +1/+1 counters among any number of creatures."
2021-02-07 03:50:41: Sorrow edited Cannibal of the Cult:

Used SecretInfiltrator's suggestion of altering the abilities into three separate acts.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
Enter mana symbols like this: {2}{U}{U/R}{PR}, {T} becomes {2}{u}{u/r}{pr}, {t}
You can use Markdown such as _italic_, **bold**, ## headings ##
Link to [[[Official Magic card]]] or (((Card in Multiverse)))
Include [[image of official card]] or ((image or mockup of card in Multiverse))
Make hyperlinks like this: [text to show](destination url)
How much damage does this card deal? Shock
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)