Districts of Kestner: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Districts of Kestner

CardName: Follower of Aglar Cost: {3}{B} Type: Creature - Human Assassin Pow/Tgh: 1/3 Rules Text: {4}{B}: Target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn. If Follower of Daud is under cover, that creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn instead. (A creature is under cover as long as no opponent controls a creature with less power.) Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Districts of Kestner Uncommon

Follower of Aglar
{3}{b}
 
 U 
Creature – Human Assassin
{4}{b}: Target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn. If Follower of Daud is under cover, that creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn instead. (A creature is under cover as long as no opponent controls a creature with less power.)
1/3
Updated on 08 Jan 2020 by Onygox

History: [-]

2019-03-16 21:49:55: Onygox created the card Follower of Aglar
2019-03-16 21:50:13: Onygox edited Follower of Aglar
2019-07-29 01:10:24: Onygox edited Follower of Aglar:

­{2}{b} -> {3}{b}, 1/1 -> 1/3

2019-07-29 01:10:32: Onygox edited Follower of Aglar

This seems like a good use for "under cover"; do more when you need it.

Except.. it is also on a creature-body that completely enables it. Which is the whole problem with the mechanic; really - you need there to be a larger range of power numbers for it to operate on.

Agreed with Vitenka. For this kind of card it would be really cool to have a larger power on the card itself, but a condition of "if a creature you control is under cover" - the creative treatment could be of a clandestine mobster who controls a network of operatives.

@Vitenka @SecretInfiltrator absolutely I agree, thanks for the suggestions.

Under cover sounds like one of those keywords that is printed in italic with the ability description after it. Similar to Delirium, Revolt or Metalcraft. Example

­{4}{b}:target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.

Under Cover - If CARDNAME has the lowest power on the battlefield, that creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn instead.

It should definitely say "if CARDNAME has the lowest power" because if an opponents smallest creature has the same power as your smallest creature, your creature shouldn't get the undercover bonus because it's not really under it's opponents. If both of the tied creatures had an under cover bonus at the same time that would be a bit silly.

That then has the opposite problem; that it's trivial for an opponent to remove under-cover from the game completely. Most decks are happy to run a few 1-power utility or early creatures.

This creature is actually almost useful as an under-cover enabler; sionce you can use it on itself to then turn itself on.

Except, um, it costs 5 to use and so using it three times in a turn is pretty much imposisble.

That's where Training Grounds come in. :)

There is no correct answer to the tie, I suppose. It's a fairly arbitrary decision thematically whether a tie means both creatures are under cover or neither is. I say, let the discussion be tabled until the mechanic actually gets tested - if there are game play issues with either version it's fine to have the options.

2020-01-08 22:04:47: Onygox edited Follower of Aglar

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
Enter mana symbols like this: {2}{U}{U/R}{PR}, {T} becomes {2}{u}{u/r}{pr}, {t}
You can use Markdown such as _italic_, **bold**, ## headings ##
Link to [[[Official Magic card]]] or (((Card in Multiverse)))
Include [[image of official card]] or ((image or mockup of card in Multiverse))
Make hyperlinks like this: [text to show](destination url)
What is this card's power? Merfolk of the Pearl Trident
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)