Silver bordered and/or joke cards: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity

CardName: Gyres Within Gyres Cost: 1UUU Type: Enchantment Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Each permanent is a copy of each other permanent. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Silver bordered and/or joke cards Basic

Gyres Within Gyres
{1}{u}{u}{u}
 
 B 
Enchantment
Each permanent is a copy of each other permanent.
Created on 1 Feb 2012 by dude1818

History: [-]

2012-02-01 20:25:15: dude1818 created the card Gyres Within Gyres

Did you read the paper?

No, just the article about it.

I am terrified to imagine that this card might be fair...

Well, it's symmetric; and I think layers stop it going infinite. So ever permanent is just the powerset of the board without this permanent in play (and a blue enchantement with this cmc)

It's terrifying in token decks though; since you just have more land/best-creature-in-play/best-artifact/doomthing than the opposition. It's probably amusing if there's an aura hanging around, or anything else that self-destructs under conditions most of the permanents aren't in.

"Oh, look! I have a Master of Etherium and a War Mammoth in play with all my saproling counters. It was really nice of you guys to not attack me because all my creatures suck..."

If only this worked, it'd be utterly awesome.

Although with four lands, master of etherium, and gyres, that's already six 11/11s (even if you assume that a master of etherium that's a copy of two other master of etheriums doesn't have its ability multiple times), trample is probably overkill :)

I'm not sure if the rules specify what this does or not. I suspect that each object only ends up as a copy of whichever other object is applied to it last, which is still very good. It's also possible that it is possbile for an object to be a copy of two different objects at once, but I think that would cause headaches if it happened: I think the rules may be unclear about what happens to a creature that's 1/1 and also 5/5. (I think it mostly acts like a 6/1, but I'm not sure :))

It shouldn't be defined. That's why it's silver-bordered: each card has contradictory characteristics simultaneously.

Yeah, people thought Humility was confusing...

Have this, Humility, and Stability out. Mind=blown.

For the love of God! Nobody attack, and we'll be fine!

Hm. Does "Having an additional second power and toughness as well as the original ones" count as "changing the printed power and toughness"? :)

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
What is this card's power? Canyon Minotaur
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)