Silver bordered and/or joke cards: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity

CardName: Truancy Forfeiture Cost: {1}{W} Type: Enchantment Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Abilities activated or triggered by a permanent on the battlefield can't resolve if the source of the ability is not on the battlefield. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Silver bordered and/or joke cards Rare

Truancy Forfeiture
{1}{w}
 
 R 
Enchantment
Abilities activated or triggered by a permanent on the battlefield can't resolve if the source of the ability is not on the battlefield.
Updated on 27 May 2020 by Sorrow

History: [-]

2020-05-26 11:21:05: Sorrow created the card Truancy Forfeiture

Whatever. I'll just destroy it with my Seal of Cleansing.

wait

Well I am confused but I am a noob. Can I get an example of what this does?

@jmgariepy: I LOL'd

@James Goat:

In the rules, when an ability of a permanent activates/triggers, it goes on the stack. When the ability resolves, it usually won't matter if the permanent is still around or not, because the ability is independent of the permanent, now that it's on the stack.

This card makes that not true.

Example: You use Seal of Cleansing on this. The ability triggers when you sacrifice the seal. When it resolves, however, it checks for it's source. It is not on the battlefield. Thus, the effect does not occur, because the ability does not resolve. Meaning, you just lost your seal, and this card still remains.


I suppose this would be useful to shut down Aristocrat decks... Vampire Hexmage doesn't work anymore... neither do a lot of cards... pretty nasty.

Also, this turns your any day old Abolish into Disallow minus the counter-spell.

Very cool idea, probably really strong.

Honestly, I could see this be printed in black border. They already have the specific beats general rule, though I don't know if they use it to contradict rules text... I mean, they do have cards like Worship... which contradict tons of rules on losing!

Edit: a part of me is tempted to ask you to give this Flash, but that would be evil.

Okay I get it now. You might want to add "except mana abilities". Because of cards like Golden Egg or even Black Lotus. Usually cards don't let you stop or punish your opponents mana abilities.

That's true, except mana abilities don't use the stack, do I don't think this can stop them from resolving, since they do so automatically.

Might be wrong though, but I'm pretty sure only things on the stack need to resolve. Mana abilities just happen...

Oh I think you might be right. Silly me.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
How much damage does this card deal? Lava Axe
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)