Soradyne Laboratories v1.2: Recent Activity
Soradyne Laboratories v1.2: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity |
Mechanics | Skeleton |
Recent updates to Soradyne Laboratories v1.2: (Generated at 2025-08-18 13:40:34)
Perhaps the clause “before combat damage is dealt” would correct it...
It is indeed still an unblocked attacker during the combat damage step and end of combat step, so there are even two points when you could feint as currently worded to get to have your cake and eat it too.
And the ninjutsu discussion yesterday prompted me to ask this question about Ninjas and First Strike, which do indeed combo in evil and non-obvious ways :)
That's not what I thought, am I missing something?
The current comprehensive rules say 509.1h "An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as blockers for it becomes a blocked creature; one with no creatures declared as blockers for it becomes an unblocked creature. This remains unchanged until the creature is removed from combat, an effect says that it becomes blocked or unblocked, or the combat phase ends," and 511.3. "As soon as the end of combat step ends, all creatures and planeswalkers are removed from combat"
That seems to suggest that it's still an unblocked attacking creature in the combat damage step and end of combat step? I agree that's weird, and I don't think it's important (either way feint can be worded so it works), but that's what it looked like to me?
Once damage is dealt, combat is over, and the creature in question is no longer an “unblocked attacker”.
Now that I think about it though, I suppose you could attack, switch in a ninja, then feint off the ninja. Probably a gross underuse of the ninja, but no less amusing.
Yeah, I wasn't sure at first, but I like the "remove an unblocked attacker" version of feint. The prevent-damage was cool, but this is so much easier to play.
Alex: Huh. Does it really count as an unblocked attacker even after combat damage? I guess it does. Then I agree, it should go in the rules (and probably not the reminder text, unless playtesting says otherwise), but I don't think that's a problem.
Does that mean you could play a ninja off a groundbreaker after combat damage if you wanted to? Although I agree, I don't think that's ever likely to come up, I never thought of it before :)
So do I. Although I fear the rules for feint, if perhaps not the reminder text, will need to say that you have to do it before combat damage (so you can't have your cake and eat it too). Ninjutsu didn't need that because the ninja arrived too late to hit anything.
Ooh, missed this first time around. Do like very much, and really like the feint mechanic.