Cards With No Home: Cardlist | Visual spoiler | Export | Booster | Comments | Search | Recent activity
Mechanics | Other non-themed cardsets | Skeleton

CardName: Race to Find Cost: WUB Type: Sorcery Pow/Tgh: / Rules Text: Escalate {1} Choose one or more - • Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand • Return target artifact or enchantment card from your graveyard to your hand. • Return target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard to your hand. Exile Race to Find. Flavour Text: Set/Rarity: Cards With No Home Uncommon

Race to Find
{w}{u}{b}
 
 U 
Sorcery
Escalate {1}
Choose one or more –
• Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand
• Return target artifact or enchantment card from your graveyard to your hand.
• Return target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard to your hand.
Exile Race to Find.
Updated on 09 Mar 2017 by ThisMightBeRyan

History: [-]

2017-03-08 17:31:38: ThisMightBeRyan created the card Race to Find
2017-03-08 17:31:50: ThisMightBeRyan edited Race to Find

Inspiration I think the use of escalate here is fair.

It is hard to notice that the last line always occurs, but I would use an editor more true to the actual card format to figure out whether that's an issue. Nevertheless: Nine lines of text without reminder text. o.o

Possible improvements: a) I would sort the abilities in such a way that the order of abilities corresponds with the orders of colors in the cost if feasible. b) Since two of the modes give you two options to choose from, maybe there is conceptual space for "target creature or planeswalker card"?

Hm. Well, black does get to do the artifact half of Argivian Find in an artifact block: Fortuitous Find. I thought I remembered it doing enchantments in an enchantment block, but I was thinking of Odunos River Trawler which is only enchantment creatures.

It's quite possible that you only need to exile Race to Find if the last option is chosen anyway. The point of exiling this card is to prevent it from being a recursive engine. But that can only happen if a player chooses option three...

Unless you're regrowing permanents that themselves regrow spells.

True. But cards like Fortuitous Find don't feature self-exiling clauses. I agree it's a 'problem', but it's one that Wizards playtesters seem to pass on in favor of simplicity.

Add your comments:


(formatting help)
Enter mana symbols like this: {2}{U}{U/R}{PR}, {T} becomes {2}{u}{u/r}{pr}, {t}
You can use Markdown such as _italic_, **bold**, ## headings ##
Link to [[[Official Magic card]]] or (((Card in Multiverse)))
Include [[image of official card]] or ((image or mockup of card in Multiverse))
Make hyperlinks like this: [text to show](destination url)
How much damage does this card deal? Shock
(Signed-in users don't get captchas and can edit their comments)